New Year, New Look


Happy New Year to all.

OK, so I’m a bit late in saying that, but hey…points for effort.

With the start of the new year, I thought I’d give the ZT a new look.  The old look was a bit stodgy, and decidedly un-zen in it’s aura.

As I look to the new year, I’ve decided to be more Yoda-like in all things.  But especially in regards to resolutions for the new year.

Basically I’m not going to make any.

Instead I’m just going to do some things.  (You know, it’s that whole “Do, or do not!  There is no try!” thing).

One of the things I’m going to do this year is to be more zen in all things work related.

I found a great Zen saying that I think a lot of people in the tech world could learn a thing from.

Zen is selling water by the river.

I’m going to change that up a bit.

Technology is selling water by the river.

I think too often in this business we get caught up in the latest and greatest fads.  The newest smart phone, the latest language version, the best and greatest equipment, and we lose track of the fact that technology is basically a service industry.

This year I’m going to embrace the basic meaninglessness of “technology” and and focus on the “experience” of doing things and building things that can make my organization and the people in it more effective, productive and can generally make their lives better.

So to all out there.  Happy New Year.

I’ve got some water for sale!

-ZT

