Finding focus (or at least a good list)


So I’ll admit it.

I’m a bit of a GTD-App junkie.

There. I’ve said it.

I’m a huge fan of the whole David Allen, GTD “thing”, and I’m on a seemingly ongoing quest to find the perfect GTD app.

My main workhorse is OmniFocus. I love it for work. It does everything I need it to and more. Reminders, projects, contexts, areas, etc. It’s great.

The one problem I have is this; I’m also a bit of a design snob.

While OmniFocus is wonderful in the functionality area, in the design and UI area….eh…not so much. It’s a little, well, basic.

But, I’m not giving it up anytime soon.

However, for my personal life I’m still looking for the perfect tool.

Today I decided to give a new app that has been getting a lot of buzz. It’s called Clear.

wpid-2-2012-02-16-16-05.jpg

Right out of the box I have to say, design-wise, it’s gorgeous. The UI is really well done and it’s intuitive as heck. It makes use of gestures like no other GTD app I’ve seen and it’s actually kind of fun to use. You basically swipe, pinch, drag and poke your way to organizational bliss. Or at least that’s the idea.

Now, one thing. Its not really a GTD app. It’s more of just a List app. There’s a lot that it doesn’t do that I can see already. Like reminders.

But oh the potential it has!!!

/dreamy_face = on

One of my biggest concerns about “real” GTD apps on my phone (and even my iPad to some extent) is that they are a little clunky to use and the screens get crowded. They try to do too much.

Not so with Clear. The interface is one of the best I’ve seen and the gestures make using it a breeze.

So, I’m going to play with it some more and really see what it can do. But for now, I’m impressed.

In a perfect world. OmniFocus would take a hint from the Clear designers and find a better way to make OmniFocus work and present it’s info.

Clear, on the other had, needs (from first glance) a lot more features before it’s really read to tackle anything more than just simple lists.

We’ll see what happens.

You can find Clear in the App Store here.

You can find OmniFocus here.

