Not in Kansas anymore…


I grew up in Kansas and lived most of my life there. It’s an “interesting” place, but that’s another story.

While I still miss a few things about it (not that many really) one of the things I don’t miss is the crazy weather.

While most places like to joke “if you don’t like the weather, wait a few minutes,” they don’t really “get” that whole phrase the way Kansans get it. In Kansas, it’s not a joke. It’s not said with a chuckle and a wink. It’s reality and said with that sort of quite resignation that comes from living in a place where you can see, snow, rain, hail, tornadoes, and scorching heat…all in the same day.

I’m not joking here.

Growing up in Kansas, you learn really quickly that there is “winter”…which is fondly referred to as the “sucky ice and cold” season and then you have “crazy weather” season.

The later tends to run form around early March to November.

To give you an example from my own life, there was a “spring” day not so long ago when we woke up to a cold overcast day with temps of around 40 degrees. By noon we had sunshine and a 88-degree day. That changed in about two hours as the temp dropped to around 55 degrees and a heck of a hail storm rolled in. That lasted for about an hour…temp shot back up to the high 70s…stated sunny, for about two hours…temp dropped back to the low 50s and a thunder cell rolled in…bringing with it, high winds, a massive lightening storm (the kind you hide from), and yes, tornadoes. Several to be exact. This departed around 6pm that evening, and at that point, the temp started to climb a bit, and stayed sunny.

Until the evening…when we got an inch of snow.

/facepalm

You see, Kansas is sort of right on a meteorological “boundary line” between different zones and weather patters. Cold dry cells from the north tend to roll down from Canada and smash into warm, wet cells from the gulf of Mexico in some sort of climate gang warfare. And it takes place over Kansas and Oklahoma.

Now you know how the area got the name “Tornado Alley”.

So what I’m getting at is, I’m used to weird weather.

I just thought I left it in Kansas when I move to Wisconsin. I expected cold. I expected snow. But I didn’t expect it to mirror Kansas so much in the weather insanity.

Today proved me wrong.

Sunshine, wind, rain, snow, more sunshine, blue skies, more snow, ice pellets. It’s a veritable cornucopia of icy cold SUCK!

Have I mentioned I’m sick of winter?

Really, I know Mother Nature is pretty pissed at human kind in general, but this is just crazy.

How about a little consistency? And preferably warm?

Pretty please?

It’s starting to feel like I’m in Kansas again.

