Spring (computer) cleaning


Spring has (nearly) sprung in Wisconsin, and while the weather isn’t consistently warm (yet) it’s getting close.

So with that in mind, I think it’s time for a little Spring Cleaning.

No, not my house, not my office, or even my car. Time to clean out my computer.

While Mrs. Technocrat and I joke about our youngest kid being a bit of a (ok, LARGE) hoarder, I tend to be a digital pack rat.

Over the course of a year, i collect all sorts of things.

Files. Word documents. Applications. Zip files. Funny photos.

And you don’t even want to see my DropBox account.

It’s time for a little “stash and trash” on my computer.

This started just today as I was looking for something in my DropBox account, and ran across a family grocery list from mid 2012. Yeah, it’s a little moldy.

So, I started poking around and found lots of other digital detritus that needs to be eliminated.

Not even gonna tackle my Evernote account today. That one scares the hell out of me. I keep EVERYTHING in there.

But DropBox and the computer itself are prime for a clean’n.

Now, I can’t just go through and trash stuff randomly. And this is the problem. There is stuff that I need to save. Either for work or personal reasons, I need to keep this stuff. At least some of it.

So, I need to go through all these files and open most of them.

Yeah, you are seeing my problem.

Time.

Lots of files = lots of time to go through said files.

So for right now, I have three folders: Trash, Maybe, and Archive.

Some things are easy.

Meeting notes, those go in the archive.

Old grocery lists. Trash.

But what about this file called simply, “House Stuff”.

…..yeah…no idea either. Gonna have to open that one. Later. So into the “maybe” folder it goes.

My point in all of this is that, it’s amazing how much stuff you can accumulate on your computer. And you don’t even know it.

It’s so very easy to create a file, use it, and then forget about it. And it never goes away unless you delete it.

I’m not saying that files should have an expiration date, like milk or eggs, but some other system to occasionally remind people to clean our their digital junk would be good.

Otherwise, you end up with hundreds of files in your “maybe” folder and all they are doing is taking up space.

So, onward I go. Culling through a couple years of digital flotsam and jetsam.

The Evernote account will come later. Much later.

Just don’t ask me to tackle Mrs. Technocrat’s computer desktop.

That scares the holy hell out of me.

