Minecraft….my new addiction?


This weekend is what we call in my house a “boys weekend”. This means that Mrs. Technocrat (aka Mom) is going to be out of town for at least a while. Most likely over night.

Let the male debauchery commence.

Or, as least as much as you can “commence” with a 41 year old man, a 13 year old, moody teenager and an 11 year old grumpy/controlling pre-teen.

Yeah…not so much on the debauchery.

I the past this has always meant renting a couple videos, making pizza and vegging out with Call of Duty Black Ops 2, or Borderlands 2.

However last night my boys convinced me to try something different.

Minecraft.

I’ve never really played it before and they are both self-proclaimed “pros” at the game. They don’t exaggerate much.

They both have played Minecraft for years and know more about the game than I imagined existed.

So, with admonitions to “be nice to Dad” off we went. The oldest with his new laptop, me with mine and the youngest with his desktop computer.

A Minecraft’n we went.

I have to tell you.

I’m hooked!

The game is fantastic and I’m starting to see why people talk it up so much.

The graphics aren’t much to talk about. Basically 8-bit blocks and simple colors.

The the possibilities for what you can do are endless.

There is something slightly addicting about mining block after block to try and find metals, diamonds, red stone and obsidian.

In fact I think my kids got a hoot out of watching Dad have so much fun with the game.

Moders and developers have taken the game to a whole new level with expansions and other additions to the game.

That’s one of the beauties. It’s basically open source. People can take the basic code and are free to mod it, add t it, develop side threads and create new types of games.

In a word. Brilliant.

I’m just getting started, so i’m sure you’ll be seeing more posts on this. Bur for now, I’m hooked. And I see the value in the game for kids.

It teaches creativity, architecture, teamwork, patterns, coding…you name it.

From a parent’s stand point. It’s refreshing to see a game that isn’t just about killing stuff.

From a gamer’s perspective….it’s just plain fun.

Game on!

