Do something that scares you…


Every now and then, each of us should do something that scares us. Something that takes us outside of our comfort zones. Something that pushes us to be a “little bit more” that we normally are.

I’m talking about something that deep down, scares the living hell out of us.

I did something like that this past week.

You know what? I’m glad I did.

It’s different for each person. Completely.

For some it might be skydiving (something I really want to do just once).

For others it might be talking to someone you’ve been attracted to for years and never said anything.

For me, it’s putting myself in a position where I don’t have all the answers.

I’ve always prided myself on being a person that, at least professionally, had a deep understanding of a situation and the answers to most questions before I jump in. It’s just a part of who I am, and it works well in my chosen profession.

I’ve cultivated that habit for years. I’ve gotten pretty good at it.

But control, and answers are an illusion.

So what did I do?

For the first time in my life, I pitched a business idea to investors, entrepreneurs and business people.

Yup. And I did it in a contest in front of about 400 people.

And it scared the hell out of me.

I’m not going to tell you about the business, or the idea, or the process. That’s another post….maybe.

This is about fear.

You see, I think you grow when you do something that frightens you. You become a better person.

I think that facing fear, and the emotional and physical impacts of fear can force you to find reserves of courage, ingenuity and tenacity that you might not know you have.

I heard a great description of this at the conference from one of the presenters.

Fear forces us to “lean into” what ever problem or issue we are facing.

I like that.

Lean into it. It’s a good description.

I don’t think that we, as parents, can do a good job encouraging our kids to take risks and face our fears if we don’t do it ourselves.

The same goes for us as a nation. If we constantly run from our fears or take the easy path, we don’t grow.

When we don’t grow, we stagnate and die.

So this past week, I leaned into a fear and came out the other side. I’m stronger and more confident for it.

I’m glad I did.

Now…where’s the whiskey?

