Random thoughts


So…the new IOS 7 is “public” now. By this I mean Apple showed it off at WWDC the other day.

/pondering_mode = on

Trying to figure out what I think about it.

I think I have to break it into two parts.

Part 1, the guts and functionality of the whole thing.

Here I think I’m pleased. Seems like they are finally giving Apple users some love with new features, better functionality and well thought out tools.

Will need to get my hands on it to really tell.

Part 2, the revamp of the interface.

Not really sure how I feel about this one.

There’s been so much talk about it, I think people were really expecting the heavens to open and choirs to start singing.

Instead it looks like….well…Android.

/sad_face = on

Seriously. The whole big “redo” of IOS that supposedly delayed the release is noting more than a shift to Android-style icons.

A friend described it as looking “cheap”.

Yeah…I’ll echo that. Cheap.



Speaking of Apple, the new Mac Pro looks sweet.

If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out: http://www.apple.com/mac-pro/

It looks great! The specs are great and the graphics are amazing.

This is a great improvement.

Nice work here.



Anyone besides me ever hear the term “Derecho” before today?

I seriously doubt it. If you have, you have just putted yourself as a weather geek.

/raising hand

Yup. I’m one. And proud of it.

If you don’t know what it is, it’s a large (hundreds of miles long) and powerful wind/weather system (and rare) that can produce dangerous, sustained straight-line winds. It moves really fast and can be more dangerous than tornado systems in certain circumstances.

The midwest is set to experience one today.

Stay safe to everyone in the path. It could get bumpy.

