My new obsession


I have a bit of an obsessive personality. I fully and completely admit that.

Not something I’m particularly proud of, but it’s the way I’m wired up.

However, when I find something I truly love, that is fun, and most of all relaxing….watch out.

I’m hooked.

Yeah, there’s a pun there.

I’ve rediscovered fishing.

Growing up I loved to fish. There were a few “ponds” around our area, but they were few and far between. So I didn’t get to go very often.

It just wasn’t convenient. I think the closest one was 20 minutes away.

However, up here in Wisconsin, there are lakes everywhere.

And they have fish in them!!!!

This all started a couple weeks ago.

The local Optimist Club had a “Kids Fishing” day at one of the little ponds close to us. First 100 kids got a free fishing pole and reel.

So Mrs. Technocrat and I took the boys and off we went.

It was a blast. Sure enough we got their in time and both boys got a free pole. Nice ones too. Noting fancy but solid poles and spincast reels.

Nice!!

Then they got to fish a bit on the pond. At then end of the day the youngest caught one fish (with Dad’s help).

But Dad got the itch again. I’d forgotten how much fun it is. Life got in the way and I hadn’t been fishing in years.

Best of all, it’s RELAXING!!! Something I need in my life.

I still had a cheap pole in the garage, but no reel. So when I remembered the Dick’s Sporting goods gift card sitting on my dresser…off I went.

I picked up a solid little Shimano spinning reel and some supplies.

Yeah. I’m hooked again. (Yup, pun intended again)

I’ve been multiple times in the past couple weeks and love it. I’m remembering all the great things about just being outside and fishing.

Living here is the perfect enabler for this sort of thing.

I can get home from work and in 10 minutes be on water fishing. Perfect. I can fish for a half an hour to an hour and still head home and cook dinner.

This is where my obsessive personality comes into play. It’s too damn easy.

The proximity to water is calling me.

The boys love it and it’s something we can do together.

Mrs. Technocrat even likes to fish a bit.

So, I think I may have found there perfect obsession.

